Skip to content

Hit the Ground Running

October 23, 2009

How many indigenous women cooperatives in the world are making products for Bloomingdale’s? Very few, if at any at all.

Here at Mercado Global the word “impossible” does not exist. All of us on the team think big and see that our visions come to fruition. As a result, we have been able to penetrate a market saturated with socially irresponsible labor conditions and bring fair trade, fashion forward products into the mainstream.

(From Left) Marcela Quisquiná, Petrona Chiroy Morales, and Emilia Raxtin, from the cooperative Artesanas Mayas, creating designs for Bloomie’s Trunk Show

(From Left) Marcela Quisquiná, Petrona Chiroy Yaxón, and Emilia Raxtin, from the cooperative Artesanas Mayas, creating designs for Bloomie’s Trunk Show

As the Director of Production, it is my job to ensure that the visions of the designer, who is in NYC, are translated to our partner artisans, who are in the rural highlands of Guatemala. Thus, I am a facilitator, a link, and a mediator of the meeting of two different worlds.

The production of our collection for the Bloomie’s Trunk Show (taking place at Bloomingdale’s, 59th St., NYC on October 29 – November 1) was also my first task as I transitioned my position from the US to Guatemala. There were many challenges, but the results of our labors reflect the beauty of what we do here and the beauty I found in my experience of linking two worlds.

(From Left) Estela Quisquiná, Petrona Chiroy Morales, Rosario Mendoza, and me, exploring ways to finish multi-strand necklaces on my Mac

(From Left) Estela Quisquiná, Petrona Chiroy Yaxón, Rosario Mendoza, and me, exploring ways to finish multi-strand necklaces on my Mac

My job starts with a morning call with the designer and sales team to review the products that were made the day before. After my call the artisans arrive and I outline what we are doing and why. I want the women to understand what Bloomingdale’s is and to feel connected to the products they are making.

I love that my job is more than just overseeing production. Every day, whether I am in the storage closet in the office, outside working with the artisans, or on the phone with our designer, I find inspiration. This inspiration is a product of the true essence of partnership. Moving forward, I am eager to foster new partnerships with the talented artisans across Guatemala’s beautiful highlands.

Come see the results of this partnership at the Bloomie’s Trunk Show, going on from October 29 – November 1 at Bloomingdale’s on 59th street in New York City.

Post Card 560 pix


Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. britneybennett permalink
    October 23, 2009 5:40 pm

    That’s great. It’s nice to see talented people get their due without being exploited.

  2. October 24, 2009 1:53 pm

    It feels great to see what you are doing with the little things you’ve learnt in villages of India, you are taking ‘Knowledge and skill’ across the globe.

    best wishes for making this world a better place…..

    Victor Ghoshe
    Communication advisor and designer, India

    • Joanna Glovinsky permalink*
      October 25, 2009 11:53 pm

      Victor,

      I am so pleased to be able to share this with you. We are two birds of the same feather. Lets keep in touch.

  3. Joan Sullivan permalink
    December 22, 2009 12:51 am

    Hi, Joanna! I’m Jill’s sister and just found this from her as I try (hopelessly) to clear my email.
    I recall vividly a week spent camping on the shores of Lago de Atitlan in 1974. We loved it there. And loved the fresh strawberries so plentiful and delicious in January. We enjoyed a natural hotspring nearby completely to ourselves (my then partner and 2 sons, following the Gringo trail all the way to Argentina in a VW van.)In Panajacel we had a favorite eatery where we ate strawberry “pancakies.”
    In the Mercado Global newsletter there was an article on a fundraiser in Napa. I live in a valley to the east of that town, and would certainly attend a fund raiser for MG, so put me on your list for that.

Leave a comment